Tags

, ,

Baby Got Bling AKA My New Love for Etsy

I’ve written before about the expense of buying author promotional items. We all have small budgets for this. Okay, maybe mine is VERY small. Anyway, I recently found a way to purchase some items at a reasonable price. I have discovered Etsy. No, not discovered as in Christopher Columbus discovered America or Bill Gates discovered Microsoft. I mean that I have found a new love that gives meaning to the word shiny.

Etsy.com is a place for artists and vendors to set up an online shop with their goods. If you are crazy about Pinterest, you are in big trouble now. Because Etsy is like Pinterest with price stickers. Umm hmm…

I joined Etsy and did a search for book promotional items. I found several. I wanted special items that I could give as contest prizes, beta reader perks, and street team gifts. Click on any of the images below to see a larger view.

Prices (before shipping fees):

  1. custom bookmark = $5.00 from Sophie’s Beads
  2. custom large pendant and tree charm necklace $12.99 from Sophie’s Beads (note: My husband insists that I keep this one and order more. It’s amazing. Who am I to argue?)
  3. custom paper book pendants $2.00 each. I plan to attach these to leather cord necklaces at $.50 each. Pendant from The Book Swag shop. Leather cords from Barsikmoy. Complete necklace price will be $2.50
  4. Ball chain ($4.00 from a local shop, not Etsy) and small pendant ($2.99 from Sophie’s Beads) necklace on my beta reader (including a $.30 bail to hang it) at $7.29. I’ve now ordered organza ribbon necklaces and leather cord ones from Barsikmoy at $.50 each to bring down this price to $3.79.

I’ve already ordered more items. Keep in mind that I know this is too expensive to hand out at conferences. If you’ve been following this series, you know that I use my collector cards for that purpose.  I plan to give the jewelry as special gifts. I ordered some charm bracelets as well.

I love the bookmark, but I’m not sure if I’ll order more of those. I’m also considering keychains and cell phone earphone jack dust covers with my book covers.

Have you been on Etsy? Are you scared to find yet another great place to browse forever? Warning: set a timer. 

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

WEB     BLOG     FACEBOOK    TWITTER   GOODREADS    YOUTUBE

Whisper of Memory Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/PbZ_cjGsjA8
