Tags

, , , , , , ,

i CLOSED 2012 WITH A BANG!

bUT, i CAN’T TELL YOU ABOUT THAT PART OF MY EVENING. wHY?

wELL, DUH!

i WRITE STEAMY ROMANCE FOR LOVE (NOT MONEY *SIGH*). BUT i TRY TO KEEP THIS SITE pg13.

i TAKE MY RAUNCH NAUGHTY TO COMMENTS ON OTHER BLOGS.

jENNY? nATALIE? aUGUST? yOU’RE WELCOME, OR i’M SORRY.

i DON’T KNOW HOW TO SHUT ME UP EITHER.

[hOLD ON, FIXING CAPS lock. Phew! There we go.]

Yes, I know that you know that I knew I had CAPS LOCK activated from the first sentence forward. I chose not to change it, because…

I chose not to change it.

Apparently, comments are also where I take my blog voice. My Ace Bestie and Career Coach (bless her heart), Sherry Isaac, thinks I do my best free writing under the guise of comments.

LET’S PRETEND

Let’s pretend I’m bouncing from blog-to-blog leaving Novellas as Comments in my pud-muddle wake. See? That’s the thing about Blog Comments. Each topic is a shiny bauble to read and enjoy for a few minutes before I overpay (two cents worth) for the proffered penny for my thoughts.

They don’t have to be related topics. They don’t require order. They don’t force me into over-thinking and under-writing.

NEW YEAR’S EVE, 2012

Ignore the BANG! I am so not disclosing anything about that here. Deal with it.

I chose to throw out the old.

No. Not The Hubster.

I threw out the tummy fluff, fat-cell-glee-inducing Holiday goodies.

O-U-T, OUT! Into the trash. Just to be safe, I tossed used Kleenex and day old coffee grounds on top of that heap.

AND, I cleaned my Kitchen! Yes! Do I know how to have fun, or what?

Yeah, I’m kind of leaning toward What the…?!?, too. But, in a world where a clean kitchen is a happy kitchen, I chose to start 2013 with a happy *heart* of the home.

*HEART* OF MY GOLDEN (Where *italics* merits segue points)

On my last post, I committed to getting ALL INN ready for the Golden Heart.

I succeeded. Sort of.

*Scenes and sequels are free-written* through to the Happily Ever After.

I could beat back my Synopsiphobia, and make the entry deadline. But, I choose not to enter. Why?

It’s because of the words between the stars. The *scenes and sequels free-written* stars. Some are so short, a reader would suffer whiplash. Some contain a plethora of notes to Inner Editor, Gracie.

[Gracie: This sucks. Fix it.]

I achieved what I hoped. I solidified the plot in my Noodle Noggin, moved words and dialog snippets from brain to paper. I broke free of Edit Crazy Glue Syndrome.

Now, I want to organize my work and write right — right through to the *Happily* Ever After. I will have a polished manuscript to pitch at or before Nationals.

But, in the process I’ll have a *happily balanced* life. No. I did not spend this entire time writing. But, when I wasn’t writing, I was thinking I should be writing, which made me feel guilty about not writing, which logically led to…

…buying a new steam cleaner for my bathroom and kitchen floors.

*HAPPILY BALANCED* 2013

This is where I get to share my favorite words for 2013. Some of these may seem counter-intuitive. That’s because they are.

That’s where BALANCED plays; The Teeter to my Totter of hopes, dreams, and shenanigans. So, what are these favorite words?

[Truthfully? I’m kind of anxious to find out, too. I have no clue which words I’ll pick.]

Focus

Whoa! That one’s a sleeper.

FOCUS on the now. Stay In The Moment. Don’t make impossibly long lists and attempt to introduce strict discipline into my life and days. Besides, just the word makes me want to wander off topic, and not fin….

Explore

Geographically? More free-to-be-me road trips are essential. I’m a weird duck. I love to drive. I think and drive. I *sing* in my car.

It’s the only place with Gloria is a Singing Sensation (!) Acoustics.

*Sing*

…as if no one is listening.

[Because it would be a travesty if someone were.]

I listen to both Country Strong CDs for hours when I drive. And, I sing. My current favorites?

I thought you’d never ask

I’ll treat you to the refrains, because they have me mesmerized.

KISSIN’ IN CARS (Original artist, Jesse Lee)

***Vamping in Cars***

***Vamping in Cars***

If this world I’m livin’ in

Thinks I’m givin’ in easy

You’re gonna find out
 
I only go down kickin’ and screamin’
 
I’ll never stop chasin’,
 
and dreamin’ and wishin’
 
on shooting stars,
 
And I still like kissin’ in cars.
 
.
 

[That is only my car in my imaginary world. The police took it back when I drove it home from the party. Those wascally wabbits.]

TURN LOOSE THE HORSES (Garrett Hedlund)

Turn loose all the horses and watch them run

Take time to take in the setting sun

Throw back a keeper just to watch them swim

Forgive your enemies and love your friends

EMBRACE

This word covers a wide range of sub-topics. So many I choose to share only  those that toast my marshmallows on this chilly January 1st, 2013.

Forgive your enemies? I don’t know that I have anyone I would call a personal enemy. There are people who annoy me. I annoy people.

[Pausing for a collective gasp of Noooooooo Way!]

Still waiting…

Oh, alright. Moving on.

I generally live by the rule that we each own our own tidy block on our side of the street. I own my mood and actions. Others own theirs.

If I’m delusional in that belief, and you believe I fall into enemy territory, please send an email off loop. Title it, BITE ME, so I’ll know not to smile when I see your name on the inbound.

Embrace your creativity! As a writer blessed with writing buddies and fellow bloggers, I hear this quite a bit.

Until recently, the phrase took me on an express train to YebbitVille.  Yebbit, what exactly does that mean? Yebbit, how exactly do I go about doing that? Sherry Isaac and I began a journey with The Artist’s Way five weeks ago.

I’m beginning Week Four today. [Yebbit, it didn’t say I had to be perfect.] I can’t properly summarize the power this self-help book offers, but — if forced to put one phrase to it — I would choose Find and Nurture your Inner Child.

Embrace balance and accomplishments each day! This is where that counter-intuitive comment comes into play.

While I don’t embrace long, all-encompassing lists that leave no time for In The Moment glee, my hiatus with ALL INN taught me that I need to FOCUS.

[ACK! There’s that word again!]

In 2013, I want to be able to look back on each most days and not feel as if my day is a jumble of knotted noodles. That takes FOCUS on priorities and doing the next right thing.

The “next right thing” is rarely a nap, steam cleaning the bathrooms to avoid writing a tough scene, or taking my MasterCard on a ride down the slippery slope of Sassy Flamingo’s credit card machine.

TO THAT END…

I am going to publish this disjointed Glob post as my first GET ‘ER DONE mission for 2013. Well, that’s a lie. I’ve already crossed “wake up, brush teeth, make bed, check email, drink coffee, make breakfast, eat breakfast, and pet dogs” off my list.

Jeepers! A productive day already? Is the next right thing a nap?

No?

Then, post some dang comments so I can let my creativity fly in comment responses. Until next time…

Make it a wonderfully wonky day and Happy New Year!

 
