Tags

,

Welcome back, Brinda with [EEE!] cool information on GRAPHICS.

My hammock missed you.

How do I know?

The poor hammock didn’t have the energy to fight off squirrels who chewed through the rope, surprising me with a Ker-Plunk when I sat in it on Monday.

I can’t lie could but won’t fib and claim that as the reason for the next paragraph.

I must formally apologize to my WANA112 buddy, Mike Schulenberg. Mike had a guest post in my hands last week for publication yesterday. It’s a fun, fun article, placed in the hands of a host in which-way-did-they-go frenzy. Mike will be in the hammock on whatever future date he chooses. Mea Culpas, Mike!

We purchased a new hammock yesterday. Seriously. In my real world.

How do you do it, Brinda?

I looked at your April schedule. You manage a full-time techie guru job, a two hour commute, are part of the A-Z blog campaign.

[pausing to catch my breath]

You’re taking Tiffany Lawson Inman’s MADNESS to Method craft class at Lawson’s Writing Academy.

What else? What else? I know there’s something else.

Oh! Oh! You’re also on an intensive blog tour for Whisper of Memory, the second in your YA Paranormal Whispering Woods series.

I don’t know how you handle so many tasks, but I’m glad you can. Because, it means you had time to continue your series here in my new hammock.

Take it away, Brinda.

Graphics 101 or Graphics Step #1- by Brinda Berry

I’ve come to realize that some basic knowledge about web images can be helpful to most people. Software today allows you to do several things: personalize, create, share, and alter. You don’t have to be an expert to put your brand on your website, Twitter page, or Facebook fan page. Let’s talk about this in baby steps. Today’s quick lesson will be on resizing a photo.

Step #1, Image size. Images are made of pixels (tiny dots of color). More pixels will get you higher resolution or clearer pictures. More pixels will also grow the file size. Sometimes the website will tell you the maximum image size you can upload.  For example, you want to upload a book cover on a website/blog. The settings tell you that you may upload a maximum size of the image. My publisher sent me 4 sizes of my book cover from my recent release. These are the sizes:

  • 133 X 200 ,  78 KB (smallest dimensions in terms of pixels and file size)
  • 200 X 300,   122 KB
  • 453 X 680,   411 KB
  • 800 X 1200, 1.093 KB

I recently did a guest post on a site with these requirements for all images included in my blog post: “…any graphics  (jpg only, no larger than 200×300) related to the blog itself.”  One of my book cover files fits the requirement perfectly, so that was simple. What if I wanted to send an author image as well? How would I choose? Would I need to modify an existing author pic to fit what they need?

  1. Browse to any picture you have taken.
  2. Rest your cursor over the picture.
  3. Right-click to access the menu and find the word Properties.
  4. Click on Properties and see tabs.
  5. Choose Details and click.
  6. View the Dimensions and Size.

I browsed to one picture of me on my hard drive.  It’s not one I use for my author pic, but I want to illustrate something to you. I performed the actions above. This is what I discovered about the photo.

Dimension 2448 x 3264, Size 2.3 MB – This is huge.

Now, let’s resize it.

  1. Right click on the image in your folder to access that same menu.
  2. Choose Open With (and then see Paint in your list)
  3. Click to open the photo in Paint. I chose Paint because it’s free software that everyone has. I use more robust software when I do graphics work.
  4. If you are in Windows 7, you will see the Ribbon menu at the top. Choose the Resize button.
  5. Screenshot 1: Look at the box and notice the arrow pointing to Maintain Aspect Ratio. Make sure it is checked.
  6. Screenshot 2: The next screenshot shows how I changed the radio button to select “Pixels” and then I typed “200” in the horizontal dimensions. It automatically changed the vertical dimension to stay relative.
  7. Screenshot 3: Click OK and then you have an image that will fit the requirements  in the example I relayed above. My photo is now 200 X 266 (pixels) and 62 KB (a much smaller filesize).
  8. Go to File, Save As, and name your new image file. Then you will have a new smaller image in addition to your original.
  9. Note: This resizing lesson works to reduce your image to a smaller size. Always keep your original image by using Save As.  In contrast, enlarging with this method will only get you a blurry image. So, always begin with the best quality (largest file size) you need if purchasing stock photos.  It may be the smallest size stock photo is all you need for your purpose.
Paint Resize Step 1

Screenshot 1

Paint Resize 2

Screenshot 2

Paint Resize 3

Screenshot 3

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

WEB     BLOG     FACEBOOK    TWITTER   GOODREADS    YOUTUBE
Whisper of Memory Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/PbZ_cjGsjA8
