Tags

, , , ,

Keep Swimming. Here’s Your Goggles – by Brinda Berry

Have you caught up with all the tasks on your to-do list for marketing yourself and your work? Wow. I’m so proud of you. I’ve gone through my list and here’s what is going on with me.

  1. Website, Twitter, Facebook (the big 3) CHECK!
  2. Amazon, Goodreads, Instagram, Triberr, YouTube, LinkedIn, Google + CHECK!
  3. Author headshot, Google Alerts, Local RWA Chapter Chapt. Author page, book tours, blog hops, giveaways CHECK!
  4. Press Kit. FAIL (Did you hear the wah, wah, wah sound effect?)

KD Reep of http://www.flywriteinc.com/ was the presenter of our information program at the last Diamond State Romance Authors’ meeting. She talked about the how, why, and who of writing a press release.

KD Reep is helping my group publicize our service project called Wild at Heart. First, here’s a little background. Wild at Heart is a set of anthologies with proceeds to benefit the non-profit big cat rescue called Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge (TCWR) in Arkansas. We talked with the folks at TCWR about how writers could help raise funds for their animals. TCWR is excited about the opportunity to reach the public this way. These digital and print book sales will raise funds with all proceeds to TCWR.

Authors nationwide answered a call for submissions for short stories (adult and YA) that ended up filling two books. A committee selected the best stories to include and ended up with a total of 22 short stories evenly balanced between adult and YA. All the stories are related to animals.

We released the digital version on Amazon just yesterday. Click HERE to visit and buy for $3.99 or download for FREE if you are an Amazon Prime Member. Sorry if that last sentence was hard sell. When I found out it costs $6000 a month to support the meat fund at Turpentine, I freaked. These rescued animals need help!

Now, back to what occurred at the meeting. I was stunned. The information about reaching the public in Arkansas was simple, yet priceless. People in media cannot help you market if you don’t bring it to their attention. KD Reep used me as an example and talked about why I should be sending press releases to media contacts in my local area. She thought they would love to hear about a local YA author. I might be able to have interviews on radio programs or with newspapers if they knew about it.

The illustration hit home. I’ve been swimming as hard as I can in this social media ocean and forgot the local people in my own pond. KD Reep handed me some virtual goggles to see what I should do next.

I’m now creating a press release for my own YA series. The Waiting Booth paperback version released on Friday on Amazon and The Book Depository. Writing a press release is not difficult. Visit this link to see several examples for a book press release: http://www.selfpub.info/templates/book-press-release-templates-and-examples.html . I plan to send mine to as many local media outlets as possible. I’ll also make it available on my website.

Is creating a press release on your to-do list?

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

Whisper of Memory Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/PbZ_cjGsjA8