Tags

,

Gus reads Kenyon’s Devil May Cry

Getting Chummy with Goodreads

I have lots of friends who read as much as I do and constantly recommend books that sound fantastic.  As soon as I hear a book recommendation that fits my interests, I add it to my Goodreads To-Be-Read (TBR) list. It’s the only way I can remember the titles of all these great books.

So, what is Goodreads? Goodreads is an online social book club. Readers have access to read reviews,  create reviews, recommend books, and generally discuss all book things.  It isn’t limited to readers. Authors have a chance to interact with readers and promote their work.

I’m a member of Goodreads. I am able to friend other readers on the site in much the same way that I can on Facebook. I can see the reading selections of my friends on Goodreads as well as their ratings. If someone has similar reading taste, I might add a book to my TBR list because he/she recommends it. If I don’t want to friend an author, I can become their “fan” and still follow activity.

I have an author profile on Goodreads. If you are an author, you must begin as a member. As soon as you have a published book, you can join the author program.  Then that author profile is attached to your regular member one.  I’ve created both and have some friends. I must admit that I enjoy browsing books and reviews.  If I’m on the site with my author hat on, what can/should I do?

1. Read reviews. If you are looking at a review of your own book, you can click LIKE.  You could also add, “Thank you for the review.”  I do not recommend discussions over the review. Every reader has a right to an opinion. Don’t let the less than stellar reviews get you down. Reader opinions can vary widely. I’ve seen bad reviews for books I enjoyed and rated a 5-star read. We readers are all so different in our tastes.

2.  Blog. If you have a blog, make sure that it is feeding into Goodreads where you can reach another audience.  On your Author Dashboard, there is a place to sync your blog by typing in the address and clicking on Add Feed. Then it is automatic. If you don’t have a blog, you can set up a blog within Goodreads.

3.  Grab the html from a widget. You can add a Goodreads widget to your regular blog sidebar or page.  There are several to choose from and I have a couple on my blog. Here are some examples:

GOODREADS WIDGET EXAMPLE #1 (not sneaky self-promotion…. well, maybe a little bit)

Brinda Berry’s books on Goodreads

The Waiting BoothThe Waiting Booth

reviews: 8
ratings: 52 (avg rating 4.50)

GOODREADS WIDGET EXAMPLE #2 which adds The Waiting Booth to your TBR list (See how easy this makes it for the reader while on your website? )
The Waiting Booth

GOODREADS WIDGET EXAMPLE #3 (any reader could have this one displayed after joining the reading challenge)

      2012 Reading Challenge

          2012 Reading Challenge
        Brindahas             read 5 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide
        5 of 30 (16%)
          view books

4. Post an excerpt for readers. Log in into Goodreads and go to www.goodreads.com/story/new .  I haven’t done this one yet.

5. Post a quiz. I’ve taken a few quizzes and they are fun.  I haven’t created one yet, but I would like to make one for The Waiting Booth.

6. Advertise an event. An event can be a book signing at a physical location or an online event like a Twitter party or book cover reveal. From the Home screen, look at the menu at the top that begins with Home and ends with Explore. Drop the menu by clicking on the down arrow.  Go to the bottom selection called Events. At the right of the screen, you will see My events, Add an event, and Friend events. You can probably take it from here.

These are a few reasons why authors might be interested in Goodreads. Do you have an account on Goodreads? Where do you keep your TBR list?  

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

Find Brinda:    FACEBOOK ,   TWITTER ,   WEBSITE/BLOG

The Waiting Booth LINKS: AmazonBarnes and NobleKobo BooksEtopia PressAll Romance eBooksBorders online

The Waiting Booth TRAILER: http://youtu.be/xIBrZWsJ3Ls

